The Debut

Ok, I’m not going to lie. This is starting out as a school project. Or actually, maybe I should be thanking the school project for the birth of this blog. I’ve wanted to do this for a while, but with three basketball games a week, plus work and now plus school, it’s been hard to find proper motivation.

Before I get into the sports part of everything, a little bit about me. I’m 21 years old living in Holbrook, New York, about 15 miles west from the dead center of Long Island. If you’re not from the area, take out any pre-conceived notions about Long Island. The sidewalks are not made with gold. Not that I’ve been able to see them recently with all of this snow. I was born with a heart condition, have had several surgeries to fix it. During one of the early ones, when I was three, they accidentally scratched my voice box, leaving me with a raspy voice. Unable to play sports, I grew up as a Yankees fan starting when Derek Jeter was in his rookie season. I was spoiled for most of my early baseball life, watching my favorite team win four championships by the time I turned 12. But don’t worry, I grew up as a Jets fan also, so it all balances out.

I knew from very early on in life that I wanted to do something involving sports, even if I couldn’t [i]play[/i] sports. So I watched, got to know players, teams, strategies, terminology. And I kept watching.

Eventually, I got to picking out courses for 11th grade at Sachem High School, which is in Lake Ronkonkoma. I heard that the school had a radio station from guidance councilors, so I knew that I was going to take the Broadcast Jouralism class, which allowed students to go on radio. And I’m not kidding when it’s an actual radio station. Other schools have radio clubs that simulate what an actual radio station would be like, and I hope I don’t sound disrespectful, but this is a real station. 91.9 FM, WSHR that can be heard from Western Nassau County to Riverhead, which is where the north fork separates from the south fork.

My first year there was mostly learning from alumni how to do sportscasts. Again, I watched and listened, trying to get an idea for what to do and hope to emulate what they did. In my senior year of high school, which was 2006, all the alumni of the previous year had left because they transfered to schools upstate, and I was really the only active person left. So I took the reigns and picked games to broadcast and with the help of a very good group of students were able to get football, basketball and softball games done. Now they weren’t at all great, or even good jobs by me. But they got done, and I worked hard at trying to improve. That’s the most important thing, working hard. Mistakes I used to make back then do not happen now. And every year since then, it’s been improving.  I still volunteer there, and call games every week during football and basketball season (softball ended up being a one-and-done thing). I’ve been fortunate enough to see some great local athletes, and see some of the most incredible games.

I used to attend Hofstra University. That’s the school I applied to out of high school, and I went there from Fall 2007, through Spring 2009. I didn’t like their radio and TV program, or commuting back and forth, about 40 minutes, everyday. So I left, and I started attending Suffolk County Community College in Fall 2009, and love it there. It gets a bad rap because of the community college tag, and yes some classes do feel like the 13th grade, but certainly not any classes in the Radio and TV Production program. Currently, I’m the play-by-play voice for when they do broadcasts of sporting events. I also do commentary for the Suffolk Juniors, an amateur hockey league that plays out in Hauppauge.

This blog will be about anything related to sports. One day, I could be talking about girls high school basketball, the next it could be about some free agent signing in one of the major sports. Its gonna be a whole lot of everything.

This entry was posted in About Me. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Debut

  1. Mr WordPress says:

    Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

Leave a Reply

